Salmon Patties with Meyer Lemon Relish

Image

At the risk of aging myself at least a couple decades and possibly revealing that I’m actually a time traveler born in the 50s, I have a little confession: I adore salmon patties. Full on canned salmon, butter, grandma-style salmon patties. I probably make them at least every other week. And since I make them so often, I’m always looking for ways to spice them up a bit. Switching the white onion for green onion, adding in some sriracha and a little soy sauce, you name it.

Image

I’ve had my eye on this meyer lemon relish for quite a while. But I never got around to making it before because the original recipe has it paired with slow-and-low baked fresh salmon – which, don’t get me wrong, sounds wonderful, but also unjustifiable at $18 a pound when I only have to feed myself. But then, my aunt sent me some meyer lemons from her tree, and I knew I couldn’t pass up this relish any longer. So I decided it would be a great way to change up my salmon patty routine without spending 10 bucks on salmon for two dinners. And great it was.

Meyer lemons are a cross between lemons and madarin oranges. They’re sweeter than regular lemons and have a nice thin, soft peel that’s thin enough to eat. This relish is light and refreshing and a perfect way to get myself out of a salmon patty rut. I’m sure it would be even better with fresh salmon.

Image

Meyer Lemon Relish

From Yummy Supper

1 large shallot, minced

1 tablespoon white wine vinegar or lemon juice (I used the vinegar)

sea salt

1 large meyer lemon

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons chopped parsley

freshly ground black pepper

In a small bowl, let the minced shallot sit in the vinegar or lemon juice for 15 minutes with a pinch of sea salt. Leaving the skin on, cut the lemon into 8 wedges. Take out the seeds and core. Cut the wedges in half lengthwise. Then, thinly slice them crosswise. Add the olive oil and parsley and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Salmon Patties

Makes 2

1 can salmon (the small-sized one)

1/4 white onion, chopped

1/4 cup breadcrumbs

1 egg

pinch red pepper flakes

salt and pepper

butter

possible add-ins/substitutions: use green onion instead of white onion, add in hot sauce or soy sauce or chives, etc. This time, I added in a little parsley since I had some leftover from the lemon relish.

Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl. Form into two patties, making a small depression in the center of each one. Melt a tablespoon or so of butter in a frying pan over medium-high heat. Place the patties in the pan, and cook for about 4 minutes, until browned and slightly crispy. Flip the patties and cook for another 3-4 minutes on the second side, until browned and heated through.

Top the patties with lemon relish and enjoy. I ate the salmon patties over wild rice, but they are also great over pasta, and I’m sure a nice crusty loaf of bread would be fantastic as well.

A cooked salmon patty will last a couple days in the fridge and reheat well.

Leave a Reply

