Secret Ingredient Oatmeal Cookies

Image(Not to be confused with Secret Ingredient Chocolate Chip Cookies)

This post has been a loooong time coming. I had my eye on this recipe for a solid week before I actually made it. I’ll tell you that a few long days at work followed by a big snowstorm that prevented me from going grocery shopping were the cause of that delay, but that’s not really true. Procrastination 1, Kaitlin 0. More like Procrastination 5000, Kaitlin 0 but I’m not counting.

IMG_4576Regardless of the reason, I had to make them, because I had some leftover cottage cheese from a recipe I made that’s not going to make it on here because, whoops, I took it to a friend’s house and we ate it before I could get a good picture. (That recipe was these Blood Orange bars, and they are wonderful.) Anyway, I had some leftover cottage cheese, which I’m not going to eat unless it’s baked into something delicious, because, that texture? Ew. I also had a newly purchased container of oats and a bag of chocolate chips staring at me every time I opened the pantry. So I did a little searching a found these delightful oatmeal cookies. Which you should make and share, because you’ll have about 6 dozen. Or just keep them for yourself and eat away at the giant pile of cookies on your counter.

IMG_4635These are nice and soft, and the cottage cheese makes them a little cakey. The cinnamon is a wonderful addition, giving them a little spice. They’re like little oatmeal chocolate chip clouds!

 

Secret Ingredient Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from cooks.com

Makes 5-6 dozen

 

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 ½ cups sugar

1 cup cottage cheese (you can strain it if you want, I didn’t even want to think about how gross that would make my strainer, so I just beat it a little longer until the curds were gone)

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups sifted flour

2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

2 cups quick-cooking oats (the recipe calls for quick-cooking oats and that’s what I had. If you use regular rolled oats I would decrease this to maybe 1 2/3 cup)

2 cups chocolate chips

You can also add in ½ cup chopped nuts and/or 1 cup seedless raisins in place of or in addition to the chocolate chips.

 

In a large bowl or stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the cottage cheese. Add the eggs and vanilla and beat well, until fully incorporated.

Sift together the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Gradually add the flour mixture to the butter/egg mixture, mixing until just combined. Stir in the oats and chocolate chips/nuts/raisins.

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate the dough for several hours or overnight, up to 3 days. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 F. Grease 2 cookie sheets. Roll dough into 1 inch balls (I used a tablespoon to measure). Place dough about 2 inches apart on the prepared cookie sheets (I fit 15 on a pan) and bake 15-18 minutes, until tops are golden brown.

These cookies keep well in an airtight container at room temperature. They can also be frozen, just let them thaw for a minute or two before you eat them so they don’t crumble.

One Comment on “Secret Ingredient Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Very brilliant looking bake! Looks very delicious too! =)


Leave a Reply

